Fort Lewis College Chapter
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)
Durango, Colorado

   Home      Shared Governance Conference

Colorado Shared Governance Conference

September 5, 2014, Vallecito Room, Fort Lewis College

8:30-9:15-Breakfast Buffet and open conversation about shared governance issues around the state and the 4-corners region.

9:15-9:30  Opening Remarks, Welcome (Steve Mumme, CSU- Fort Collins, Sarah Roberts-Cady, Fort Lewis)
9:30-11:15: Panel One:Shared Governance Disasters in Colorado and New Mexico: Cautionary Tales from Faculty Front Lines

Panelists:   Tom Acker, Colorado Mesa University.

                  Tim McGettigan from CSU Pueblo

                   Brian Burke (Fort Lewis)

                   Miranda Mirklein (Northern New Mexico College)

11:15-11:30 Break
11:30-1:00: Panel Two: AAUP on Shared Governance:  Best Practice Expectations for Boards of Trustees, Faculty Representation in Governance, Communications (including electronic communications), Disciplinary Action

Panelists:  Jonathan Poritz  (CSU Pueblo)

                  Kathy Fine Dare (Fort Lewis)

                  Jane Fraser (CSU Pueblo)

                  Steve Mumme (CSU Fort Collins)

                  Don Eron (CU Boulder)

1:00-2:00 Lunch on own
2:00-3:30: Panel Three: Strengthening Adunct Faculty (Community Colleges and Four Year Institutions)

Panelists:   Richard Wagner, (Metro State)

                  Caprice Lawless (Front Range Community College)

                  Suzanne Hudson (CU Boulder)

                  Miranda Mirklein (Northern New Mexico)
3:30-3:45:  Break
3:45-5:15-Keynote speaker:  Gary Rhoades, University of Arizona, former AAUP Executive Secretary.
5:15-7:00 Dinner on your own
7:00-9:00-Wrap up discussion, organizing directions for the future related to academic issues and state mandates.